Jump to content

59th Writers Guild of America Awards


Recommended Posts


Tina Fey to Rock WGA Guild Awards

by Dave McNary


Tina Fey

Tina Fey will host the 59th Writers Guild of America Awards celebration in New York, set for Sunday, February 11 at the Hudson Theater in the Millennium Broadway Hotel. The West Coast awards show will be held simultaneously in Los Angeles at the Century Plaza Hotel.

The Writers Guild of America Radio and Television Nominations were announced recently. The Writers Guild of America Screen Award nominations will be announced on Thursday, January 11, 2007.

Fey, who writes, executive produces and stars in NBC's "30 Rock," is up for WGA Awards in the Comedy Series and New Series Categories. Fey spent eight seasons on "Saturday Night Live" and won an Emmy for her writing on the show. Fey also received a WGA Award for her work as co-head writer on "Saturday Night Live's 25th Anniversary Special."

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 3 weeks later...


WGA Names Film Nominees

by Dave McNary


Meryl Streep and Anne Hathaway in 'The Devil Wears Prada'

The Writers Guild of America has tapped the screenplays for "Babel," "Little Miss Sunshine," "The Queen," "Stranger Than Fiction" and "United 93" for its Original Screenplay Award and "Borat," "The Departed," "The Devil Wears Prada," "Little Children" and "Thank You for Smoking" for the Adapted Screenplay Award.

WGA winners have matched the Oscar winner in the original category seven times in the past 12 years, including last year when Paul Haggis and Bobby Moresco won for "Crash." The guild's winner in the adapted category has doubled as the Oscar winner eight times in the past 12 years, including last year when Larry McMurtry and Diana Ossana won for "Brokeback Mountain."

The screenplay for Fox's "Borat" qualified in the adapted category since it was based on a character created by Sacha Baron Cohen. Winners will be announced on Sunday, February 11 in simultaneous ceremonies in Los Angeles and New York. The WGA nominations were based on voting by the guild's 13,000 members.

59th Writers Guild of America Awards

(winners will appear highlighted in red)


Will Ferrell in 'Stranger Than Fiction'

Original Screenplay


Screenwriter: Guillermo Arriaga

Studio: Paramount Vantage

"Little Miss Sunshine"

Screenwriter: Michael Arndt

Studio: Fox Searchlight Pictures

"The Queen"

Screenwriter: Peter Morgan

Studio: Miramax Films

"Stranger Than Fiction"

Screenwriter: Zach Helm

Studio: Sony Pictures Entertainment

"United 93"

Screenwriter: Paul Greengrass

Studio: Universal Pictures


'Thank You for Smoking'

Adapted Screenplay

"Borat: Cultural Learnings of America for Make Benefit Glorious Nation of Kazakhstan"

Screenwriters: Sacha Baron Cohen, Anthony Hines, Peter Baynham and Dan Mazer

Story by: Sacha Baron Cohen, Peter Baynham, Anthony Hines and Todd Phillips

Based on a Character Created by: Sacha Baron Cohen

Studio: Twentieth Century Fox

"The Departed"

Screenwriter: William Monahan

Based on the Motion Picture: "Internal Affairs"

Written by: Alan Mak and Felix Chong

Studio: Warner Bros. Pictures

"The Devil Wears Prada"

Screenwriter: Aline Brosh McKenna

Based on the Novel by: Lauren Weisberger

Studio: Twentieth Century Fox

"Little Children"

Screenwriters: Todd Field and Tom Perrotta

Based on the Novel by: Tom Perrotta

Studio: New Line Cinema

"Thank You for Smoking"

Screenwriter: Jason Reitman

Based on the Novel by: Christopher Buckley

Studio: Fox Searchlight Pictures

Link to comment
Share on other sites

  • 1 month later...


WGA Nominates Documentaries

by Dave McNary


Oliver O'Grady in a public park in Ireland in a scene

from 'Deliver Us From Evil'

The Writers Guild of America (WGA) has selected "Deliver Us From Evil," "The Heart of the Game," "Once in a Lifetime: The Extraordinary Story of the New York Cosmos," "Who Killed the Electric Car?" and "Why We Fight" as finalists for its documentary award.

"Deliver Us From Evil," which centers on a former priest and convicted pedophile, is the only entry on the short list of 15 documentaries eligible for an Oscar. The Writers Guild of America said the nominees were chosen from a total of 35 submissions.

The credited writers of these documentaries are required to join the WGA West Nonfiction Writers Caucus or WGA East Nonfiction Writers Committee in order to be considered, but the scripts do not have to be written under WGA jurisdiction.


Scenes from the documentary, 'Who Killed the Electric Car?'

Nominated writers are Amy Berg for Lionsgate's "Deliver Us From Evil," Ward Serrill for Miramax's "Heart of the Game," Mark Monroe for Miramax's "Once in a Lifetime," based on a story by Monroe and John Dower, Chris Paine for Sony Classics' "Who Killed the Electric Car?" and Eugene Jarecki for Sony Classics' "Why We Fight."

The award was established two years ago. Morgan Spurlock's "Super Size Me" won in 2005 and Alex Gibney took the trophy last year for "Enron: The Smartest Guys in the Room." The winner will be announced on February 11 at the WGA Awards Ceremonies at the Century Plaza in Los Angeles and the Broadway Millennium in New York.

The Writers Guild said since the creation of the award, the number of U.S. documentaries containing a writing credit has jumped more than 50%. It also said the 35 films submitted for consideration repped a 40% increase from the previous year.

59th Writers Guild of America Awards

(winner will appear highlighted in red)

Best Documentary

"Deliver Us From Evil"

Screenwriter: Amy Berg

Studio: Lionsgate

"The Heart of the Game"

Screenwriter: Ward Serrill

Studio: Miramax Films

"Once in a Lifetime: The Extraordinary Story of the New York Cosmos"

Screenwriter: Mark Monroe

Based on a Story by: Mark Monroe and John Dower

Studio: Miramax Films

"Who Killed the Electric Car?"

Screenwriter: Chris Paine

Studio: Sony Classics

"Why We Fight"

Screenwriter: Eugene Jarecki

Studio: Sony Classics

Link to comment
Share on other sites


Living Room

Living Room

Please enter your display name

  • Create New...