Derek Xiao

UcApEwyZgZRkAqXHQ3vN38ymSwoAOFC3zY0ZkzoyI5ph097S4HxCEC3AgqHQG7-A6pgJeHDxhrWFFYBxWWxVZozaT7jmmkqAs9u_XMiiihFe62R4C1UKOvP9fSU6P9I5eZe4TG2_

Derek Xiao

Hometown: Baltimore

Current City: New York City

Three words that describe you: Funny, logical, and thoughtful.

Favorite activities: I’ve been really into chess and surfing recently. I just spent a month in Hawaii, and I would surf every morning and then play chess on the beach. Growing up I fell into the typical Asian stereotypes and played tennis and piano. My mom only cooked Chinese food growing up, so I started learning how to cook so I could make random food that I craved, like mac and cheese. Now I love cooking and trying new recipes. My least favorite activity would be cleaning the dishes afterwards though.

Who are your favorite Houseguest duos? Those who became best friends in the Big Brother house or had a showmance?

Dr. Will and Mike Boogie. They looked like they were having a great time in the house, while also playing the game extremely well.

What are you most excited about living inside the Big Brother house?

Meeting interesting people from across the country. I love meeting new people and getting everyone laughing.

What do you think will be the most difficult part about living inside the Big Brother house?

Not being able to see my friends and family for the whole summer.

What is your favorite past moment on Big Brother?

Dan’s funeral speech in Season 14. That moment was flawless game play that leveraged both emotional and logical strategy.

What is your strategy for winning the game?

Build relationships with everyone in the house and slowly turn friendships into alliances. And then layer in unassailable logical reasoning to influence peoples’ decisions.

My life’s motto is…

“If you laugh at yourself first then everyone is just laughing with you.”

What would you take into the house and why?

• A journal so I can keep track of all the funny stories to share with my friends.