Jump to content

2006 Edgar Allan Poe Awards

Recommended Posts


2006 Edgar Allan Poe Awards

Mystery solved. The winners of the 2006 Edgar Allan Poe Awards have been announced. Mystery Writers of America presented the Edgars, honoring the best in mystery fiction, nonfiction, television and film published or produced last year, at a Manhattan banquet on Thursday, April 27.

Mystery Writers of America, a New York-based organization for mystery and crime writers, fans and professionals related to the genre, has given the Edgars annually since 1946. Previous winners have included Agatha Christie, Raymond Chandler, Tony Hillerman and Elmore Leonard.

Poe, considered the patron saint of MWA, was a writer of poems, short stories and detective fiction known for his macabre tales.

The Edgar Winners are:

Best Novel

"Citizen Vince"

by Jess Walter

Best First Novel by an American Author

"Officer Down"

by Theresa Schwegel

Paperback Original

"Girl in the Glass"

by Jeffrey Ford


"Girl Sleuth: Nancy Drew and the Women Who Created Her"

by Melanie Rehak

Fact Crime

"Rescue Artist: A True Story of Art, Thieves and the Hunt for a Missing Masterpiece"

by Edward Dolnick

Short Story

"The Catch"


"Greatest Hits"

by James W. Hall

Young Adult

"Last Shot"

by John Feinstein


"The Boys of San Joaquin"

by D. James Smith


"Matter of Intent"

by Gary Earl Ross

Television Episode Teleplay

"Sea of Souls" Episode


by Ed Whitmore

Motion Picture Screenplay


by Stephen Gaghan

based on the book by Robert Baer

The Simon & Schuster-Mary Higgins Clark Award

"Dark Angel"

by Karen Harper

Link to comment
Share on other sites


This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.



Please enter your display name

  • Create New...