'The Late, Late Show With Craig Ferguson'

TV_Paige

Reuters100x26.jpg

Ferguson Finds Niche on CBS' 'Late, Late' Shift

craig_ferguson.jpg

'The Late, Late Show With Craig Ferguson'

"There's something I believe wholeheartedly: Cynicism is the true refuge of the pseudo-intellectual," Craig Ferguson says with conviction, leaning back in a chair with work boot-shod feet propped up on the desk in his office at CBS Television City. "Cynicism is easy. Joy is an extremely advanced spiritual and intellectual tenet."

As he nears his first anniversary on the job at CBS' "The Late, Late Show With Craig Ferguson," the host has been spending a lot of time thinking about such weighty concerns. Ferguson says he has been in a pretty advanced place for most of the year after finding his footing in a job that has thoroughly changed his life.

"This job has explained to me who I am -- I'm not kidding," Ferguson says. "I always knew I was an actor, but kind of not. I always knew I was a writer, but kind of not. I knew was a producer, but kind of not."

560286.jpg

Craig Ferguson

"It's really a peculiar confluence of skills and experiences that put you in the right position to do this job," Ferguson explained. "But I know now what I am. I'm this. Whatever this is. Now that I know this it's really helped me in my life."

Ferguson hadn't sought out the gig, but he didn't say no to a guest-hosting offer in the Fall of 2004 when CBS was holding on-air auditions to find a replacement for Craig Kilborn. He expected it to be nothing more than a two-night "lark."

Then Ferguson met Peter Lassally, the respected veteran of Johnny Carson's "Tonight Show" and David Letterman's NBC and CBS programs, who was enlisted last year by Letterman's Worldwide Pants and CBS to revamp "Late, Late Show."

01_cast.jpg

Craig Ferguson (center) in 'The Drew Carey Show'