Jump to content

Primary: Sky Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble
Secondary: Sky Slate Blackcurrant Watermelon Strawberry Orange Banana Apple Emerald Chocolate Marble
Pattern: Blank Waves Squares Notes Sharp Wood Rockface Leather Honey Vertical Triangles
Welcome to TV Fan Forums
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account

2011 Film Independent Spirit Awards

  • Please log in to reply
No replies to this topic



    Forum Host

  • Member
  • Pip
  • 2,703 posts

Posted Image

26th Annual Film Independent Spirit Awards
(winners will appear highlighted in red)

Posted ImagePosted Image

Best Feature
(Award given to the Producer, Executive Producers are not listed)
"127 Hours"
Producers: Danny Boyle, Christian Colson, John Smithson

"Black Swan"
Producers: Scott Franklin, Mike Medavoy, Arnold W. Messer, Brian Oliver

Producers: Jennifer Jason Leigh, Scott Rudin

"The Kids Are All Right"
Producers: Gary Gilbert, Philippe Hellmann, Jordan Horowitz, Jeffrey Levy-Hinte, Celine Rattray and Daniela Taplin Lundberg

"Winter's Bone"
Producers: Alix Madigan-Yorkin and Anne Rosellini

Best Director
Darren Aronofsky ~ "Black Swan"
Danny Boyle ~ "127 Hours"
Lisa Cholodenko ~ "The Kids Are All Right"
Debra Granik ~ "Winter's Bone"
John Cameron Mitchell ~ "Rabbit Hole"

Best Screenplay
Stuart Blumberg and Lisa Cholodenko ~ "The Kids Are All Right"
Debra Granik and Anne Rosellini ~ "Winter's Bone"
Nicole Holofcener ~ "Please Give"
David Lindsay-Abaire ~ "Rabbit Hole"
Todd Solondz ~ "Life During Wartime"

Best First Feature
(Award given to the director and producer)
"Everything Strange and New"
Director: Frazer Bradshaw
Producers: A.D. Liano, Laura Techera Francia

"Get Low"
Director: Aaron Schneider
Producers: David Gundlach, Dean Zanuck

"Night Catches Us"
Director: Tanya Hamilton
Producers: Sean Costello, Jason Orans, Ronald Simons

"The Last Exorcism"
Director: Daniel Stamm
Producers: Marc Abraham, Tom Bliss, Eric Newman, Eli Roth

"Tiny Furniture"
Director: Lena Dunham&
Producers: Kyle Martin, Alicia Van Couvering

Best First Screenplay
Diane Bell ~ "Obselidia"
Lena Dunham ~ "Tiny Furniture"
Nik Fackler ~ "Lovely, Still"
Bob Glaudini ~ "Jack Goes Boating"
Dana Adam Shapiro, Evan M. Wiener ~ "Monogamy"

Best Female Lead
Annette Bening ~ "The Kids Are All Right"
Greta Gerwig ~ "Greenberg"
Nicole Kidman ~ "Rabbit Hole"
Jennifer Lawrence ~ "Winter's Bone"

Natalie Portman ~ "Black Swan"
Michelle Williams ~ "Blue Valentine"

Best Male Lead
Ronald Bronstein ~ "Daddy Longlegs"
Aaron Eckhart ~ "Rabbit Hole"

James Franco ~ "127 Hours"
John C. Reilly ~ "Cyrus"
Ben Stiller ~ "Greenberg"

Best Supporting Female
Ashley Bell ~ "The Last Exorcism"
Dale Dickey ~ "Winter's Bone"
Allison Janney ~ "Life During Wartime"
Daphne Rubin-Vega ~ "Jack Goes Boating"
Naomi Watts ~ "Mother and Child"

Best Supporting Male
John Hawkes ~ "Winter's Bone"
Samuel L. Jackson ~ "Mother and Child"
Bill Murray ~ "Get Low"
John Ortiz ~ "Jack Goes Boating"
Mark Ruffalo ~ "The Kids Are All Right"

Best Cinematography
Adam Kimmel ~ "Never Let Me Go"
Matthew Libatique ~ "Black Swan"
Jody Lee Lipes ~ "Tiny Furniture"
Michael McDonough ~ "Winter's Bone"
Harris Savides ~ "Greenberg"

Best Documentary
(Award given to the director)
"Exit Through the Gift Shop"
Director: Banksy

Director: Jeff Malmberg

Directors: Tim Hetherington and Sebastian Junger

Directors: Ilisa Barbash, Lucien Castaing-Taylor

"Thunder Soul"
Director: Mark Landsman

Best Foreign Film
(Award given to the director)
Country: (Ireland)
Director: Lance Daly

"Mademoiselle Chambon"
Country: (France)
Director: Stéphane Brizé

"Of Gods and Men"
Country: (France)
Director: Xavier Beauvois

"The King's Speech"
Country: (United Kingdom)
Director: Tom Hooper

"Uncle Boonmee Who Can Recall His Past Lives"
Country: (Thailand)
Director: Apichatpong Weerasethakul

Special Awards

John Cassavetes Award
(Given to the best feature made for under $500,000. Award given to the
writer, director, and producer. Executive Producers are not listed.)

"Daddy Longlegs"
Writer/Directors: Benny Safdie, Josh Safdie
Producers: Casey Neistat, Tom Scott

Director: Matthew Bonifacio
Writer/Producers: Matthew Bonifacio, Carmine Famiglietti

"Lovers of Hate"
Writer/Director: Bryan Poyser
Producer: Megan Gilbride

Writer/Director: Diane Bell
Producers: Chris Byrne, Mathew Medlin

"The Exploding Girl"
Writer/Director: Bradley Rust Gray
Producers: Karin Chien, Ben Howe, So Yong Kim

17th Annual Acura Someone to Watch Award
The 17th Annual Acura Someone to Watch Award recognizes a talented filmmaker of singular vision who
has not yet received appropriate recognition. The award includes a $25,000 unrestricted grant funded by Acura.

Director: Hossein Keshavarz
Film: "Dog Sweat"

Director: Laurel Nakadate
Film: "The Wolf Knife"

Director: Mike Ott
Film: "Littlerock"

14th Annual Piaget Producers Award
The 14th Annual Piaget Producers Award honors emerging producers who, despite highly limited resources demonstrate the creativity, tenacity, and vision required to produce quality, independent films. The award includes a $25,000 unrestricted grant funded by Piaget.
In-Ah Lee
Au Revoir Taipei

Adele Romanski
The Myth of the American Sleepover

Anish Savjani
Meek's Cutoff

The 16th Annual AVEENO®
Truer Than Fiction Award

The 16th Annual AVEENO® Truer Than Fiction Award is presented to an emerging director of non-fiction features who has not yet received significant recognition. The award includes a $25,000 unrestricted grant funded by AVEENO®.
Ilisa Barbash, Lucien Castaing-Taylor ~ "Sweetgrass"
Jeff Malmberg ~ "Marwencol"
Lynn True, Nelson Walker ~ "Summer Pasture"

4th Annual Robert Altman Award
[/i](Given to one film's director, casting director and its ensemble cast)[/i]
Film: "Please Give"
Director: Nicole Holofcener
Casting Director: Jeanne McCarthy
Ensemble Cast: Ann Guilbert, Rebecca Hall, Catherine Keener, Amanda Peet,
Ensemble Cast: Oliver Platt, Lois Smith and Sarah Steele

The Jameson FIND Your Audience Award
[/i]The Jameson FIND Your Audience Award was established this year to help make it possible for one Spirit Award-nominated film to find a broader audience.
Spirit Award-nominated films in need of expanding their marketing and distribution efforts will be considered. The award includes a $50,000 marketing and
distribution grant, funded by Jameson Irish Whiskey. The grant was designed to meet independent filmmakers’ biggest challenge today: How to get their films
out into the marketplace. A blue-ribbon committee will determine the winner.[/i]

Film: "Marwencol"

0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users