Jump to content
Sign in to follow this  
TV_Paige

17th Annual Screen Actors Guild Awards

Recommended Posts

graphic

17th Annual SAG Awards Honors Actors

by Robert Seidman, Network TV

LOS ANGELES, California – The 17th Annual Screen Actors Guild Awards, one of the awards season’s premier events, will honor outstanding performances from 2010 in five film categories and eight television categories, including the distinctive ensemble awards. The ceremony will be simulcast live coast-to-coast on TNT and TBS on Sunday, January 30, 2011.

The award ceremony airs at 8 p.m. (ET), 7 p.m. (CT), 6 p.m. (MT) and 5 p.m. (PT) from the Shrine Exposition Center in Los Angeles. An encore presentation will air on TNT at 10 p.m. (ET) 9 p.m. (CT), 8 p.m. (MT) and 7 p.m. (PT). The presentation of this year’s SAG Awards marks TNT’s 14th telecast of this prestigious industry event, the sixth consecutive simulcast on TBS.

Prior to the televised ceremony, the SAG Honors for television and film stunt ensembles will be announced by SAG Awards Committee Chair Actress JoBeth Williams and Committee Member Actor Scott Bakula during the live tnt.tv and tbs.com webcasts from the Red Carpet which begin at 6:30 p.m. (ET)/3:30 p.m. (PT).

Each year at the SAG Awards, the Red Carpet and Showroom fill with a Who’s Who of the entertainment industry as the casts of the year’s best-acted films and television series come together with industry leaders to meet, mingle and cheer their colleagues. Set within an intimate dinner-party atmosphere, The event is an evening of spirited camaraderie, glamorous fashion, warm reunions, spontaneous laughter and shared respect.

Unlike other awards ceremonies, the SAG Awards puts its focus squarely on the actors, from the signature opening montage of "Actors' Stories" to the acceptance speeches in which Actor recipients speak from the heart to their peers. The Screen Actors Guild Awards are closely watched by the industry as a precursor of possible Oscar and Emmy® recognition and by viewers as an emotional, memorable night of live television.

A highlight of the evening will be the presentation of Screen Actors Guild’s 2010 Life Achievement Award to Ernest Borgnine. The accolade celebrates both career achievement and humanitarian accomplishment. Previous recipients include Betty White, James Earl Jones, Charles Durning, Julie Andrews, Shirley Temple Black, James Garner, Karl Malden, Clint Eastwood, Edward Asner, Ossie Davis and Ruby Dee, Sidney Poitier, Kirk Douglas, Elizabeth Taylor, Angela Lansbury, Robert Redford and George Burns, among others. A complete list of the 46 previous Life Achievement Award recipients can be found at www.sagawards.org.

The 17th Annual Screen Actors Guild Awards will also continue the tradition of saluting the Guild’s membership. In past years, the awards show has spotlighted stunt performers, child actors, character actors, background singers, dancers, background performers and voice-over artists among others. In 2007, the ceremony featured a tribute to SAG’s 75th Anniversary.

An elegant new set reminiscent of a grand lobby will provide an opulent backdrop against which the ceremony will unfold. The most distinguishing features are a pair of monumental lacquered doors, each framed by oversized molding with rococo staff detail, which will lead to the wings on either side of the stage.

Gold-leafed vertical pipes will line the perimeter of the stage, rising up from a black and white check lacquered floor, while in the center will float a gold-leafed ornately-framed screen on which the nominated performances and tributes that are at the heart of The Event will be showcased. A custom-made crystal chandelier will punctuate the stage lighting, echoed in multiple overhead crystal fixtures throughout the showroom.

Of the top industry honors presented to performers, only the Screen Actors Guild Awards are conferred solely by actors’ peers. The SAG Awards was the first televised awards show created by a union to acknowledge the work of actors and the first to establish ensemble and cast awards.

The SAG Awards nominees are chosen by separate film and television nominating committees, each consisting of 2,100 SAG members from around the country, randomly selected anew each year.

Nominations for the 17th Annual Screen Actors Guild Awards were announced on Thursday, December 16, 2010 by Rosario Dawson and Angie Harmon, who were introduced by SAG Awards Committee Chair Actress JoBeth Williams. Williams and SAG Awards Committee Vice Chair Daryl Anderson announced nominees for the SAG stunt ensemble honors.

The nominations announcement was carried live on TNT, tnt.tv and tbs.com. All active members of SAG will be mailed voting instructions on December 30. Votes to determine who will receive the coveted bronze Actor statuettes on January 30 must be received by the SAG Awards official teller, Integrity Voting Systems, by January 28.

PEOPLE magazine and the Entertainment Industry Foundation (EIF) will host the Screen Actors Guild Post-Awards Gala for the 15th consecutive year. This exclusive event honors the philanthropic causes and good works of the members of the Screen Actors Guild. The gala, benefiting the Screen Actors Guild Foundation, will immediately follow the SAG Awards on the backlot of the Shrine Exposition Center.

The 17th Annual Screen Actors Guild Awards will be telecast internationally, as well as to U.S. military installations overseas through the American Forces Network Broadcast Center.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

splash_08.jpg

17th Annual Screen Actors Guild Awards

(winners will be highlighted in red)

splash_100.jpg

Theatrical Motion Pictures

Screen Actors Guild 47th Annual Life Achievement Award

Ernest Borgnine

Outstanding Performance by a Cast in a Motion Picture

"Black Swan"

"The Fighter"

"The Kids Are All Right"

"The King

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Sign in to follow this  

×